Laboratory overview

Located in Quebec City, the CT Scan Laboratory of the Eau Terre Environnement Research Centre of the Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) possesses two major computed tomography (CT) machines, a SIEMENS medical CT scanner and a TESCAN micro scanner, which are supported by three well-equipped instrument rooms.

SIEMENS medical CT Scanner

The main machine is the SIEMENS medical X-ray CT scanner. The scanner is mounted on rails and is used to study the structure of different natural materials (e.g., sediments, ice or rock cores, tree trunks) or manufactured materials (e.g., archeological objects, reinforced and pre-stressed concrete, bituminous coatings, electrical cables, military body armour) for research projects or consulting engineering firms.

TESCAN CoreTOM micro CT


The laboratory also recently acquired a TESCAN CoreTOM micro CT (µCT). The µCT has been operational since the summer of 2021. It captures a lot more detail about the sample, down to the order of a micron for small samples, while also being able to scan large samples. 

Three instrument rooms support this equipment: HYDEES, which is dedicated to coastal and fluvial hydraulics; Sedimentology, which focuses on the study of sediments; and Géotek, dedicated to non-destructive multiparameter characterization of core samples.

The laboratory team specializes in image analysis and has developed a range of related MATLAB tools. They can also adapt analyses based on your needs. For more information on this topic, please contact the laboratory team (see Contact page).

Le laboratoire en bref

Situé à Québec, le laboratoire CT-Scan du Centre Eau Terre Environnement de l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) possède deux infrastructures majeures de tomodensitométrie, un CT-Scan médical SIEMENS et un micro scan TESCAN, ainsi que trois espaces servant à supporter ces infrastructures.

CT-Scan médical SIEMENS


L’infrastructure principale du laboratoire est le CT-Scan médical à rayons X de marque SIEMENS. Le tomodensitomètre est installé sur des rails. Cette infrastructure est utilisée dans divers domaines non-médicaux pour étudier la structure de différents matériaux naturels (carottes de sédiments, de glace, de sols ou de roches, troncs d’arbres par exemple) ou fabriqués (objets archéologiques, bétons armés ou précontraints, revêtements bitumineux, câbles électriques, protection militaire notamment) pour des travaux de recherche ou des firmes de génie-conseil.

Micro Scan TESCAN CoreTom


La seconde et plus récente infrastructure est le micro CT-scan (µCT) TESCAN CoreTom. Ce µCT mis en fonction durant l’été 2021, permet de révéler des détails beaucoup plus fins sur les échantillons analysés, avec des résolutions de l’ordre du micron pour de petits échantillons, tout en permettant l’analyse d’échantillons de grande taille. 

Ces deux infrastructures majeures sont supportées par trois espaces: l’espace Hydées qui porte sur le thème de l’hydraulique côtier et fluvial, l’espace Sédimentologie qui porte sur le thème du même nom et l’espace Géotek dédié à la caractérisation non destructive multi paramètre.

En complément des activités de mesure par tomodensitométrie, l’équipe est spécialisée dans le traitement d’images et a développé différents outils Matlab. Il est possible de développer des codes personnalisés selon vos besoins d’analyse. Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet, veuillez contacter les agents du laboratoire à la page Nous joindre.